Personal development

Prequel to “fix your belief and you will be unstoppable”

I was on the phone with mum this morning and she told me she read my blog. Yes, my mum reads my blog!

She gave me some constructive feedback as mothers do and suggested I keep things simple. Consequently, I had to agree with mum as I have not given my last post a good introduction. So this will be an attempt to put the excitement of my last post in context.

I find a lot of my peers as well as friends older than me frustrated with their lives. They, and myself included desire more in material and in purpose/direction of living. It was easy back in school, where our purpose was to do well in school and finish school. Once out of school, so many of us get sucked into a materialistic race for more. As a result, we feel like we are constantly fire fighting, ie. fixing problem after problem and never really seeing a potential happier ending, or an end at all.

Fighting fire

tackling problem after problem

I don’t think living this way is living at all. People say, ” If it aint broken, why fix it?” I say, “If you aint fixing anything, you are in denial. If you are in denial, you are not growing, and if you are not growing, you are not happy” This is why I urge everyone reading this to stop for a moment and ask yourself:

  • Am I truly happy?
  • Do I think there is more to life than what I have now?
  • If money is no object, what would you want to do with your life?
  • When you are old and wrinkly, you reflect on your life’s experiences, what do you want to see?
  • Do you want your life to be great?

Regardless of how old you are and how much you have or have not done, it is never too late to make some changes and go after what you want. Heck my mum is 60 and has more happening in her life now than ever before! She is doing so well intellectually, mentally, physically and emotionally I could not be more proud!

So stop and think. Identify what YoU want your life to mean, what you want your legacy to be.

Standard

Leave a Reply

