Fun stuff

The World’s Biggest Book Sale – Big Bad Wolf book Sale

This is my first post since my move from England to Petaling Jaya. For the benefit of those not in the know, PJ is a satellite city just outside of Kuala Lumpur.

As I was packing my things ready for the move, I found myself being more protective of my books than my clothes despite the monetary value of the latter far exceeding that of the books. But hey, the value of education from books is ever increasing over our lifetime so why not ? 🙂

So imagine the excitement I was in when I visited the World’s Largest Book sale (apparently) at the Mines Exhibition Centre yesterday, shopping ‘basket’ snugly resting on my hip.

my shopping 'basket'

my shopping ‘basket’

World’s largest? Are you sure?

view form the entrance

view form the entrance

I arrived at 2 o’clock in the afternoon and the place was heaving with book lovers, pooled around islands piled high with books. I could not contain my glee as I stepped through the entrance to the exhibition hall and let out an audible gasp, much to the amusement of the staff.

The selection of tittles was nothing short of impressive for a discount book retailer :

Non fiction : self help, religion and new age belief, business, cookery (large selection of Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson books), health and wellness, reference, science, photography, hobbies and craft, psychology etc.

Fiction : authors such as Nicholas spark, Sophie Kinsella, Nora Roberts, Neil Gaiman; classics , to be honest I ran out of time browsing through the non fiction so apologies for under selling this immense section

Others : childrens books, magazines, CDs, stationary, food (yes, no need to leave the premises), play area (seriously)

If you do get bored ( I cannot imagine how), the book towers will keep you entertained.

B for books

B for books

Inspired by the Eiffel Tower

Inspired by the Eiffel Tower

It is by the book tower I spotted Tim Ferris’s “ The 4 hour Work Week” for RM8 (that’s 1 pound 63 pence!!) and later “ The 4 hour Body”. What a steal! To think I was just about to purchase them off Amazon a week ago at about 9 pounds each!

I left the book sale RM203 lighter and 23 books happier 🙂  Best 40 quid I have spent in a long time.

My purchases

My purchases

Oh by the way, we are now 26 hours into a 63 hour book sale marathon. Talk about book mania! So hop out of those jammies and get yourselves over to the Mines!  Golden tip of the day : bring a wheely case if you want to save your arm muscles. Seriously.

One more thing. Watch your toes. Those crazy book bargain hunters will run you over with their trollies.

Have fun 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

